With the new Batman V Superman movie out, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what type of Superman movie I would make, who I would cast, etc. Since I’m never going to get to make a Superman movie myself, I thought I would detail my ideas here.

I want to make sure to preface this with a few things first: 1. I’m going to be cribbing a LOT of things here. Some of them will probably seem pretty blatant to some. There will  be some key points here taken from Kevin Smith’s Superman Lives script. Various plot points and definitely some tone will be taken from various comic books over the years. We have seen several superhero movies cherry picking from the books for a few years now and I believe it is a valid way to construct a superhero film. Therefore, not all of these ideas will be original, but guess what, I didn’t create Superman either. My hope is to be able to show these concepts combined in a new way with my own ideas.

2. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but we are living in a time of heavy superhero movie saturation. As such, there is going to be some superhero casting overlap. I’m not concerned with “That guy couldn’t play that part because he is under contract with another studio to play another character!” Not my problem. This is a fantasy. I’m gonna do what I want. Over the course of these, some of the things that get described may come true, or some weird coincidences may arise. It’s happened before when I’ve had thoughts about something in pop culture, so we’ll see.

So, having said all that, let’s proceed.

