Tags

, ,

This week I will be taking a look at comics that were given away as part of this year’s Free Comic Book Day. This annual event, now in it’s 15th year, is when comic publishers give away books, usually to promote something big they have coming up*. I have participated (taken free comics) since it’s inception in coordination with the first Sam Raimi Spider-Man movie. It has become sort of a holiday for me and my friends. A “Nerd Christmas” if you will.

It’s also a good opportunity to see where the various comic book companies are by what they are putting out. The individual giveaways are a good barometer for what the publishers see as a priority for them. The introduction of a major event, a reprint of a new hit series, a tie-in to an upcoming movie, etc. It’s also typically a good jumping on point for series since the event is designed to bring in new readers.

So, this week I will be reviewing comics I picked up on Free Comic Book Day, starting with tomorrow’s Breather Book.

FCBD_nodate

 

*(I know that retailers have to purchase these books and so they are not free for them, but they are for us.)

 

