Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! I’m pumped to be writing about Detective Comics #934!Detective-Comics-934-CV

That’s right 934. Old numbering is back! When DC renumbered Detective and Action with the New 52 relaunch I was disappointed. I had been looking forward a long time to these books reaching #1,000.  Detective should be the one to reach 1,000 before Action, since it debuted first, but due to Action’s weekly run in the 80’s it overtook it. I could deal with that, we would still get Detective 1K. Then the renumbering put into doubt if this book would be allowed to reach the milestone.

I felt kinda like this.

Now of course, the prevalent thinking was that DC would relent and bring back the old number sequence in time to publish the historic issues. However, Detective missed it’s 9ooth issue due to the reboot.

latest-1

What is the 900? The issue I was denied.

The real kick in the nuts is that Action was allowed to reach #900 before the New 52 premiered.

latest-2

He might as well be throwing the Batmobile here.

Dan Didio has even said in interviews that he was against renumbering these specific titles. On Kevin Smith’s Fatman on Batman podcast Didio states as much at the 55:40 mark. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8YNaXNeO-o0

Didio also names the man who fought to restart Detective and Action, David Hyde.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 10.13.10 PM

The frightening thing about the devil is that when you see him, he looks just like a normal guy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This lead to a feeling in the back of my mind that maybe DC would skip the 1,000th issue of the series the company is named after. I’m not going to live another 83 years to see Detective Comics, Volume 2 #1,000, you guys.

So, while I initially balked at the idea of DC Rebirth, I was pleased to see that Action and Detective were returning to their original numbering. Finally, here we are. Detective Comics is back to its original numbering. Now, I just have to figure out where to file it in my longboxes. After the original run and before vol. 2, or after vol. 2?  I guess after the New 52 run since those would count towards the issue numbering. What the hell do I do with the annuals? Especially new ones they come out with later. Whatev.

Anyway, this is a really good story with Batman assembling a team made up of the extended Bat-Family and Clayface to deal with a looming threat and it features the return of Jean-Paul Valley Azrael.

Hopefully, the book will be this good until it reaches Detective Comics #1,000.

milestone

You said it, Hitler!

 

 

