Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I go through DC’s Rebirth releases, today’s comic book is Aquaman: Rebirth #1.

dc-comics-aquaman-rebirth-issue-1.jpg

Hey, it’s an Aquaman comic where he’s underwater! That’s a novel idea. I can’t tell you how much it bugs me when Aquaman is on land primarily. He’s king of the sea. His land lubbin’ adventures with the JLA should be the equivalent to him going off to outer space.

Here, Arthur is dealing with political matters under the sea. A terrorist group called the Deluge is attempting to launch an attack on the surface world. They also show a new (to me anyway) Atlantean embassy off the coast of Massachusetts. I’ve thought for a while now that the concept of Atlantis needs to evolve beyond the “city under a dome” that it’s been portrayed as for decades now. This is a step in the right direction.

I also like how they are adding to the Aquaman legend here. If you’re really going to say that Aquaman’s kingdom covers 2/3 of the world, you need to show it. There is so much potential for an extended universe for him to inhabit. There’s no reason that Aquaman’s world can’t be as expansive as Lord of the Rings or Star Wars. While I like what is introduced here, it only skims the surface of what could be.

I know that there was a lot of backstory established in previous series like Atlantis Chronicles, but I didn’t read them, so they don’t count.

2363801-06

If I was gonna read this, I would just go ahead and invert my junk and read Elfquest.

Arthur fights the Deluge faction while above water we are shown how different people view Aquaman. Some as hero, some as menace. They don’t show it on the page, but you have to assume that J. Jonah Jameson takes the latter view of the king of Atlantis.

After he defeats the Deluge, Aquaman retires to a coastal restaurant with Mera. Presumably, this is the same restaurant from the iconic scene in the first issue of his New 52 run.

Following the segment with Aquaman and Mera, we see that someone is spying on them via monitors. BTW, who sets these up for villains? Everyone uses these things now. Are supervillains walking into their local Best Buy and getting the Geek Squad to come over to their lairs and set up their wi-fi? Password: ACurrysuX4eva.

Predictably, but not disappointingly, the one watching them is Black Manta. On the last page he swears revenge on Aquaman as one would assume is required by his contract.

The issue is written by Dan Abnett and is good at setting up the new status quo for Aquaman’s new volume. The art is by the teams of Scot Eaton/Mark Morales and Oscar Jimenez. I’m presuming that the teams will alternate issues like some of the other new books are doing. Eaton/Morales seem to do the bulk of this issue, but I think I prefer Jimenez’s pages. His style works great for showing Aquaman swimming in the beginning and the shadowy end with Black Manta.

All in all, I like this book a lot more than I thought I would. Aquaman can be so hit or miss so I didn’t know what to expect. Some of the ideas I’ve had about Aquaman lately apparently occurred to the creative team too, so it’s nice to see those things addressed. I will probably pick this one up for a while and see where it goes.

By the way, I probably should have brought this up earlier, but if you don’t like what I’m writing here or don’t agree with me, that’s ok, because only Jack Kirby can judge me.

