Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today, I am finishing out the fourth week of releases of DC Rebirth with Wonder Woman #1.

1079564.jpg

Oh boy. So I picked up the Frank Cho cover because I’m already kind of tired of the regular cover and I’m not really a fan of Liam Sharp. When I get down to it, the Frank Cho cover and the colors inside are really the only things I like about this book. Even the lettering seem inconsistent throughout. I shouldn’t even be thinking about the lettering.

So far, this title is the worst of Rebirth. I’m all for an excuse to pick up Wonder Woman, but this doesn’t give me one. I don’t need a dark Wonder Woman story. Maybe the “Year One” story running in every other issue would be more to my liking, but I think I’m done with this book. Plus, I’m not going to pick up every other issue of a title and try to keep track of that.

I wasn’t impressed with the Rebirth special and this doesn’t help matters. I suppose the one other thing I liked about this issue is the villain reveal on the last page. I won’t give that away though since there is so little to like about this book.

I’m not sure what went wrong here. As I said before, I am a fan of Rucka’s, but this doesn’t do it for me. Maybe he’s spent too much time away from the book? Since he was announced, I thought that it was a step backwards. That could just be my bias though.

If you’re a hardcore Wonder Woman fan and completionist, I guess you would pick this up, but I’m not sure why anyone else would.

I’m not even sure what else to say about this book…

So far DC Rebirth hasn’t even been hit or miss for me. It’s been kinda hit or “eeeehh?” Overall, I was more impressed with the initial offerings from the start of the New 52 back in 2011. At least most of those books felt like they were trying something new. Too much of DC Rebirth is backpedaling. As far as Wally West goes, they can back pedal all they want there, I’m cool with it.

Until next time, only Jack Kirby can judge me.

 

