Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After examining the DC Rebirth comics of last month, I’ve decided to slow down and only look at ones of interest to me. I had some pretty mixed feelings about the Superman offerings. On one hand, I’m always up for a good Superman comic. On the other, I wasn’t too impressed with what we got for the first month. This was disconcerting to me since I’m a fan of just about everyone on these creative teams. On the hypothetical paper, these were going to be really good books. On the literal paper, I was left wanting.

Action Comics by Jurgens and Zircher was good and I was on board. A plethora of new concepts were being introduced. However, Zircher’s art looked rushed for issue 2. What we are hearing now about artists already being shuffled on the DC Rebirth bi-weekly books, seems to reveal that something probably fell through. On the whole, I still liked Action, but it’s rare that I pick up Action and not Superman. In fact, I don’t think I ever have.

That leads me to the flagship super-title, Superman. Despite having a team I am a fan of, Superman #1 was one of the biggest missteps of the Rebirth launch for me. My previous article on this issue is available here. https://detective651.wordpress.com/2016/06/20/superman-vol-1/

After a text from a friend asking me how the Superman title was, I decided to give the second issue a chance.

Superman-2-Rebirth-DC-Comics-spoilers-preview-1.jpg

To my surprise, a lot of the issues I had with the first issue are addressed in this issue.

The opening sequence is Superman going to save a submarine with his son Jonathan. The rescue mission is supposed to be a learning experience for Jonathan. During this mission something interesting comes up that I hadn’t considered. As a consequence of New 52 Superman dying and Post-Crisis Superman now being this Earth’s Superman, people don’t know if they can trust this new hero. This is also addressed in Justice League: Rebirth. I suppose because I am so familiar with this version of the character, it didn’t occur to me that it wouldn’t be business as usual when he debuted. Though unexpected, this development should lead to some new stories.

During the rescue, a gigantic sea creature attacks and Superman directs Jonathan to use his heat vision on it. Striking Superman as well as the beast, the reader is shown that there are going to be growing pains with Jonathan learning to master his abilities.

After the battle, Jonathan confesses to his father what became of Goldie in the first issue. Finally! This is my main problem with the last issue. Here it becomes a moment of growth and character development for Jonathan and his family lay Goldie to rest.

Later, when Jonathan is visiting with Kathy the neighbor girl, he falls out of a tree and hits his head. Kathy and her grandfather rush Jonathan home to his family. Clark is uncharacteristically short with the neighbors as he takes his son. The reader understands though, that he doesn’t want a doctor to examine him and reveal their secret. In context of Clark dealing with his neighbor though, it seems like a more modern example of superdickery.

Clark relates to Lois that to diagnose his health, Jonathan needs to be taken to the Fortress of Solitude. At the Fortress, a device shown earlier in the story arrives and starts absorbing resources. On the last page, the device forms into a new manifestation of the Eradicator.

I am a fan of the Reign of the Supermen story from the 90s. Also, of the original version of the Eradicator. With any luck, this will be a return to the first version of the character, and not the convoluted variations that came later. No one wants another Hawkman.

Overall, I was really pleased with this issue. My problems with the first part were addressed. This is more what I expected from creative team of Tomasi, Gleason, and Gray. I will probably stick with this book for a while longer and see what happens. Hopefully, we will get the quality comics these creators do.

